Quick Takes (July 2016)

IMG_2530

NORMAL by Graeme Cameron

A nameless serial killer finds himself falling in love with a local shop girl. What does that mean for the woman he still has locked in his basement dungeon? Part suspense thriller, part romantic comedy, Cameron’s debut is perfect for fans of Dexter. Voyeuristic and thrilling, it teeters on the edge of laughable as these warm and fuzzy feelings throw the killer off of his ritualistic game as love does with many of its recipients. Readers will no doubt connect with him, despite knowing they really shouldn’t. 

ME AND EARL AND THE DYING GIRL by Jesse Andrews

A definite The Fault In Our Stars vibe is felt in this young adult novel about a girl with cancer and the boy who tries to help her through it. But Andrews takes a more humorous and awkward approach to the tragic topic. How do you react when someone you barely know has cancer and it doesn’t look good? Not well, but it’s sweet watching Greg try. Do yourself a favor and catch the 2015 film. Andrews himself wrote the script and both the book and movie will leave you a sobbing mess.

VERONIKA DECIDES TO DIE by Paulo Coelho

After Veronika attempts suicide, she is sent to a psychiatric hospital where doctors tell her that despite her failure, her weakened heart will soon give out. With only days left to live, Veronika discovers love and purpose among the backdrop of the mentally ill patients around her. Coelho used experience from his own life for this touching, lyrical story about a woman who believes she has nothing left to live for, yet lives life to the fullest in the time she has left.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s